Skip To Main Content

SGC Overview

School Governance Council Election Announcement


Declare Your Candidacy


It's SGC elections season again! SGC Elections are a way for parents and teachers who are elected onto the council to have a role in the vision and direction of the school. To declare or learn more about this process, please visit the SGC Elections page.

It all starts with elections!

  • Candidate Declaration Window: February 5 - March 29. 2024
  • Voting Window: April 17 - April 24, 2024

The purpose of the School Governance Council is to provide parents, school staff, and community members with a leadership role in the management of the school. The School Governance Council is a governing body that is representative of the community and the school, but operates under the control and management of the Board of Education. The Council is responsible for making decisions regarding the strategic direction of the school including:

  • Approve the school strategic plan and updates
  • Approve the annual budget and annual resource allocations
  • Manage the Request for Flexibility process
  • Participate in hiring the principal (in the case of a vacancy)
  • Provide annual feedback on principal performance.

Members of the public interested in attending our SGC meetings or providing a public comment can request space/time by emailing our Chair and Vice Chair at the email addresses available below at least 48 hours in advance of the scheduled meeting date. Please review the Public Comment Handout for more details.

  • August 4, 2023 @ 3:50pm
  • September 14, 2023 @ 3:50pm  
  • October 12, 2023 @ 3:50pm  
  • November 9, 2023 (Cancelled)
  • January 11, 2024 @ 3:50pm  
  • February 20, 2024 @ 2:00pm  
  • March 14, 2024 @ 3:50pm  
  • April 18, 2024 @ 3:50pm  
  • May 9, 2024 @ 3:50pm  


Public Comment Meetings

All SGC Meetings are held in the Media Center Conference Room at 3:50pm unless otherwise noted.

  • Outreach and Communication Committee:
    • Feldstein (Chair), Turner, Dismuke, Jimenez, Chen, Jain
  • Budget and Finance Committee:
    • Smith (Chair), Turner, Dismuke, Chen, Jimenez, Jain
  • Principal Selection Committee:
    • Jimenez, Coble, Smith, Turner